Institute of Geophysics and Geomatics (IGG), the China University of Geosciences(CUG), with its predecessor of Department of Geophysical Prospecting, Beijing College of Geology (BCG), is one of the four first build departments at the establishment of CUG. In 1952, Prof. Fu Chengyi, one of the international distinguished geophysicist, was appointed to be in charge of the construction of the department. At the meantime, the department was authorized to accept and cultivate pre-graduates. The success of this school has seen demonstrated by its outstanding graduates and professors, including several academicians of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, such as Profs. Fu Chengyi, Qin Xinling, Weng Wenbo, Zeng Rongsheng, Gu Gongxu Liu Guangding, and Yang Wencai, etc. In 1975, the department was moved to Wuhan. In the May of 2003, it was officially renamed as Institute of Geophysics and Geomatics, China University of Geosciences .
The IGG comprises of several departments, which are Department of Applied Geophysics, Department of Solid Geophysics, Department of Geo-Information Science and Technology, the Experimental Teaching Center for Geoexploration Technology, and Hubei Subsurface Multi-scale Imaging Key Laboratory (SMIL) .
The IGG has a complete undergraduate, master's and doctoral training system, with two First-class discipline doctoral programs and postdoctoral mobile stations of "geophysics" 、"geological resources and geological engineering". Among them, "exploration technology and Engineering" is a national characteristic specialty, "geophysics" is a brand specialty of Hubei Province, and they are also "Double First-class" construction discipline.
At present, There are more than 100 professional teachers (96 with Ph.D.), including 32 professors, 34 associate professors and 22 doctoral supervisors, 71% of teachers have one year or more experience of studying abroad. So far, the college has trained nearly 10000 highly qualified professionals at various levels for China.